top of page
  • Writer's pictureCat

Day 149 (guassap & goodbye)

Updated: Jun 1, 2022

Yesterday was my last day at school. These past few weeks have been mostly preparation for the exams so I have been spending more time with my students, listening to their monologues, and answering all their questions. I forget that although I am usually younger than my students (aged 16 to 60), even adults get nervous before their exams.

I made some Australian ANZAC Biscuits, received lots of praise, and was even given a few regalitos ('little gifts')! Overall, I've had an incredible experience working at EOI Axarquía as part of the English Language Assistantship for Australians in Spain program. Below are some pics from school.

Two days ago, I revisited the town hall to take my name off the census. When you leave Spain, search for Baja en Padrón de Habitantes to get the form from your local town hall. Bring this and your passport to your appointment - the whole thing takes about 5 minutes.

I had a farewell dinner with the Auxes in my area. We went to La Gamba Dorada in Vélez where you can get a caña (small draught beer) and tapa for 1.80. Although I plan on seeing some of them later this year during my travels, it was definitely sad saying goodbye as they have been my English-speaking, similar-aged companions undergoing the same Spanish experiences as myself.

I also went on my last language exchange walk with a girl I had met on the website Open Language Exchange. I would highly recommend making a profile if you wish to improve your conversational skills, either online or in person, without paying anything, and hopefully make a friend.

I thanked the grandparents for all the delicious lunches I've had with them. We ate zarzuela de mariscos (fish stew) which was delicious!

And my final dinner with the host family went really well. They had prepared huevos rellenos (deviled eggs), prawns, and jámon. I am very grateful to have been able to live with a family so willing to teach me about their culture.

What's Next?

Honestly, I'm not sure, but I have officially decided to return home at the end of the year. I had submitted an application to renew with the program, but wasn't completely content with my assigned placement and there was no opportunity to change. First off, I've decided to hike El Camino de Santiago in Spain. Then, I'll be travelling in Europe until my 90-day Schengen Visa expires. Afterwards, I'll pop over to the UK.

Although, I won't be renewing, I have done a lot of research into the process, so I've attached a document below with all the info.

With regard to the blog, I'm not entirely sure whether I'll continue posting in such detail and as frequently, but I'll do my best to recap my experiences.


As my time in Torre del Mar comes to an end, I thought I'd share a few random observations that I haven't yet documented.


Notes:

- Guasappear is the colloquial verb: 'to WhatsApp' somebody. As Spanish doesn't really have the 'w' sound on its own, words like 'would' and 'wear' are very difficult for Spaniards and so they often add a 'g'.

- Online shopping is so easy in Europe! I have only ever shopped online a handful of times as shipping is alway expensive and takes weeks to get to Australia. However, in Spain, I ordered a parcel which arrived in 2 days!

- I don't take taxis very often (Bolt and BlaBlaCar are preferred in Spain), and I'm not sure if this is a thing in other countries, but the Spanish taxis all charge different rates. On top of the cars, next to the taxi sign, is a digital display with a number from 1-3. In Málaga and Seville, the taxis are ordered from 1 = urban, 2 = inter-urban, to 3 = airport, with 3 being the most expensive. However, when we went to Barcelona, the taxis all display the same number as it depends on time of day (with night being 3 and the most expensive).

- Receiving your First Communion is a big deal in Spain. It's a Catholic tradition in which a child is accepted into the church. Almost every weekend, I've seen children being photographed, all dressed up with their family. The children, aged around 8, receive presents and their pictures are tuned into cards and fridge magnets for the friends and family who attend the afterparty.


72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page