top of page
  • Writer's pictureCat

from nannying to backpacking (again)


So my plan for the UK was to rebuild my finances as an Au Pair for a family in Stoke D'Abernon, Surrey. There were three energetic boys (8, 10, 12 years), all very lovely. The family also had an adorable dog and cat (that slept in strange spaces).

I had arranged to stay two months, however, after three weeks of being constantly overtasked, I realised the position was untenable and gave the parent's my notice.

I found the family through Au Pair World which I would still recommend as the site is easy to navigate. Just make sure that you know exactly what is expected of you: an Au Pair is not the same as a Nanny or a Cleaner.

Despite not enjoying the job, there were some upsides to living in Surrey...The area is considered 'rural' and I could hear horses trotting down the street; it was also only a 20-minute trip to London. On the weekends, I was able to visit the Camden Market, celebrate Halloween, and explore the ancient sit of Stonehenge.

Stonehenge is full of mystery. We actually saw it driving in as it is right next to the A303 road. The entrance fee at £20 was a bit pricey for a student, but you can make the day out of it by going on all the walks and visiting the Woodhenge. There is also an interesting exhibition where historians have made a link between Stonehenge and a Japanese prehistoric site...

The site of Stonehenge dates back to 5,000 years where it was originally used a burial ground by Neolithic people. The stones were arranged 4,500 years ago in line with the sunrise and sunset of the midsummer and midwinter solstices. Archaeologists have found that the stones originated 240km away in Wales, but the question of how and why they got here remains unanswered.


Notes:

- As an older sibling myself, and after living with two different families this year, I was surprised to witness that it is always the youngest child who gets in trouble with the parents...

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page