top of page
  • Writer's pictureCat

tiny house

Updated: Sep 20, 2022

For those of you who don't know me, I have a slight obsession with Tiny Houses. Essentially, it's a lifestyle choice where you live off-grid, rent-free, and can relocate if need be. I'm particularly attracted to being more connected with nature, both by living in a small space, and off-grid.

I had a week in between collecting my bag from Lisbon and starting a volunteer position in Greece, so I decided to search for a WorkAway involving Tiny Houses somewhere between Portugal and Greece. When I found a family living tiny in the Bulgarian countryside, I knew I had to go.

They had already finished building their house, but I was able to help them with babysitting, gardening, digging, and a bit of stonemasonry. In return, I had a place to sleep, home cooked meals, and received tips on building a Tiny House.

While I was there, three other WorkAwayers and two children joined which made the experience more enjoyable. We worked, ate, and played with each other, forming a tiny hippie community for the week.


I had one day in Sofia where I walked through the Borisova garden (a forest in the capital city), ate a Banitsa pastry, and visited the incredible St. Alexander Nevsky Cathedral. I also explored the History Museum where I quenched my thirst at the natural hot spring fountains that surround the museum.










I had never considered travelling to Bulgaria, however, I would recommend visiting the beautiful cathedral, and participating in experiences such as WorkAway.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page