top of page
  • Writer's pictureCat

Day 2 (Madrid: SIM cards & bank accounts)

Updated: Jan 20, 2022

This blog is something I should have started back in September, 2021 while I was applying for my Visa through the Spanish Consulate in Melbourne. But…we can’t all be perfect. It is now the 5th of Jan 2022, and I’ve successfully found myself to my accommodation for at least the next two months.

Upon arrival in Madrid, I went to pop in my Aus Post Travel SIM I’d been holding on to, only to find the service had collapsed as a result of Covid. Thankfully, I was able to get a hold of the free wifi in the customs line where I actually ran into another Aux from Australia! From there, we went down to the Metro (subway). To buy a ticket, you select on the screen where you want to go, pay the fee, and get your red plastic card (only used in Madrid). The other Aux had a train to catch at Puerta de Atocha, so we got on Line 8, and then realised we had to change twice (to Line 10, and then to Line 1) before arriving at Atocha. I’m not sure if there's an easier way, but we managed. We said our goodbyes and I walked up to ground level only to find it was pouring with rain (my rain jacket was at the bottom of my pack) so I caught a taxi (€7,75) to my hotel.


Hotel Sterling in El Centro, Madrid was the perfect location, perfect price, and, I got breakfast (and packed myself a lunch). Where I'm going (Torre de Mar) is supposed to have cool nights, but mild days (around 20°), so to minimise packing, I decided to cut winter clothes. However, Madrid is further north and so while exploring, I had to buy a pair of gloves for €5.


Coming from Melbourne, Australia, the first thing that hit me were how old the buildings were. I’ve been to many cities, but there was something special about not seeing any metal skyscrapers. From the hotel, I had enough time before sunset (6pm) to see Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol ('kilometre zero' of Madrid) - both decked out in Christmas lights. I had done some research before on SIMs and knew I wanted one with Orange (due to coverage all over Europe) and thankfully, there was one in Puerta del Sol (I was hoping to do this at the airport but there were no SIM shops). I bought a prepaid SIM for €10 with 30GB (way too much) that’ll expire in 5 days. You need a passport to do this. Then I waited until 8pm (Spaniards eat dinner 9/10pm, but I’m used to my usual 6.30pms, so 8 was the best I could do), before heading down to Tiki Taco (same street as the hotel) for dinner. I would have liked to have eaten jamón or paella, but it was too early for a proper dinner and tacos were only €1,50 each. I read in my Lonely Planet guide that sangria actually isn’t that popular in Spain and that most people drink Tinto Verano (red wine with lemonade), however, it’s only available in Summer. Anyway, when I saw it on the menu during the depths of Winter, I had to try...it was amazing.


This morning, I woke up at 8am, and ventured off to Santander bank (also on the same street as the hotel) at 8.30am (both sunrise and the opening time) to set up an account (Edit: do this at your local branch!). It was a bit confusing at first as there were hardly any English-speakers in the building, but I eventually found myself sitting in front of the Director who helped me. We did the whole thing in Spanish, even though I needed to clarify every second sentence, so I’d recommend bringing a Spanish friend if you’re a beginner. This could have been done online also, but when I tried earlier, there were a few things I couldn’t understand. Anyway, for the Cuenta Smart (under 31 years and no fees), you need: your passport, letter of appointment (salary), proof of accommodation (I think online you can just put in any address, but in person, I needed an official document), and the document below. The Director then made me deposit €50 (I only had €40 on me, but I think he took pity on me and let it slide). I was told the card would arrive in 7 days time and then he’d mail it down to the closest branch to where I’ll be living which will take another 4/5 days. He set me up with the online app in the meantime, and I've added the card to Apple Pay. (I’ll change my SIM over to a monthly plan now at some stage.)

I then took the Metro to Estación de Arte, walked through Parque de El Retiro (I had wanted to go to the botanical gardens, but it only has one entrance/exit and costs €6) to Atocha where I hopped on my high-speed train to Málaga.


Notes:

- You can board the Renfe (train) half an hour before go-time, so don’t worry about being early.

- Be careful - I am fully aware that contrary to Australia, Spain drives on the right, however, it has happened twice now where I’ve instinctively looked down the wrong side of the road before crossing and have had to step back quickly!

- I haven't seen any bushland yet. Apart from the mountains, it seems like everywhere has either been turned into towns or farms.

- The lottery seems to be a big thing here - people are selling tickets on every main street (see pic).

Un abrazo,

Cat

181 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page