top of page
  • Writer's pictureCat

Day 128 (colourful chicken)

Updated: Nov 22, 2022

I believe it's time I do a food update.

A friend of mine invited me to her farmhouse with her family to learn how to make paella. It was such a fun experience and I'm definitely buying my own paellera (pan) when I have a kitchen. The process is pretty simple as long as you have the pan, a wide surface to cook on, and strong arms. Caldo is broth made from the boiling the seafood shells after you peel them. Add cumin, saffron, and salt to taste.

I've been very skeptical of the chicken meat during my time in Spain...it's yellow! Apparently, farmers feed the chickens a special feed to turn the meat yellow in order to make it look more appealing (I think it does the opposite). What's even worse, is that spices (paprika, I believe) are added to chicken sausages to make them PINK! At least is still tastes the same.

Below are some more dishes I've been having.

From left to right (up to down), you can see: paella mixto, choco en salsa ('cuttlefish in sauce') - choco is Malagueñan, jibia is more common, a pea soup with baby octopus, potaje (made 'from a pot') with veggies and mejillas ('pipis'), mejillones ('muscles'), busanos (another Malagueñan term for the shellfish), a chickpea soup with beans and morcilla ('blood sausage'), cocido with sooo much meat, and a slice of tortilla de patata (Spanish omelet) and a croqueta.

I also had sopa de picadillo (soup of 'cut up things), which I really liked.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page