top of page
  • Writer's pictureCat

Day 51 (Frigiliana)

Yesterday, I had overheard two girls speaking English at a restaurant and it turned out that they were both my age, one of them was a local and the other was her Swedish/French friend visiting for the week. They invited me on a trip to Frigiliana, a white mountain village above Nerja, for the following day.


Frigiliana is a very beautiful, small town with steep cobblestone streets and white buildings. It is famous for being the prettiest town in Andalucía and for having 3 culturas ('three cultures') which refers to the coexistence of Muslims, Jews, and Christians in the town.

Despite the tranquil atmosphere, you'll notice the twelve ceramic plaques decorating the streets, outlining the violent past of Frigiliana in which the Moors revolted against the Christians during the mid-16th century.


On your way, you'll also pass the impressive Acueducto del Águila, which was constructed in the 19th century to supply the local sugar cane plantations with water.


Notes:

- I got a tattoo yesterday! It was my first time and I had been planning it for about 4 years. The artist didn't speak any English, so I definitely put my Spanish to the test when I tried to explain that I wanted "a fine-lined tattoo with wavy leaves and a bit of shading". The eucalyptus branch is my little piece of Australia I can take with me wherever I find myself travelling to in the world.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page