top of page
  • Writer's pictureCat

Day 9 (photos)

This morning I went for a walk with another Aux to the Ayuntamiento (town hall) to make an appointment for me to get my Padrón (more on this in this post). As I'm not paying any rent, I was given a special form for my host Mum to fill out, certifying that I live at her address.

On Wednesdays, we have lunch with the grandparents. From now on, I am skipping breakfast on Wednesdays because lunch at the grandparents is a three-course meal!

Today, we had Emblanco malagueño (from Málaga (my province)) which is a soup with potatoes and fish. Then we had pisto malagueño with fried chicken. And fruit + leftover Christmas sweets for dessert.

I'm a big fan of the dining tables here - they're often draped in blankets.and you're supposed to lift the blanket up over your knees as there's a heater under the table.


Notes:

- Shop names in Spain are made up of a noun and the suffix 'ería' (which is the same root as the English word 'area'). So you will come across cafeterías (for coffee), fruterías (for fruit), and churrerías (for churros), however, today I saw a gintoneria...for gin & tonics! You'll know where to find me on my days off...

- The streets here are lined with orange trees! Apparently, they're too bitter to eat, but give off a fantastic smell, and look great.





38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page