top of page
  • Writer's pictureCat

28-Hour LAyover


Part of my journey home from Costa Rica included a 28-hour layover in LA. Thankfully, I have two school friends who live there now and was able to visit them.


I watch two classics on the plans: Die Hard and The Shawshank Redemption. I am not sure why I had never seen them, but now I have, and they were great. I took an Uber from the airport to my friend's house and the first thing I noticed was how many trees there are in LA! It's actually quite a green city with lots of eucalyptus and palm trees. The second thing I saw, was the Hollywood sign!!!



I decided to do the Walk of Fame until I recognised a name. After about 2 minutes, I found Aussie legend, Steve Irwin, and called it a day.


Notes:

- Unfortunately, there are a lot of homeless people in LA. I saw hundreds of tents lining the streets downtown.

- Like many US states, the recreational use of weed is legal. Just in my short stay I saw lots of young people smoking and vaping.

- It had taken me so long to get used to throwing toilet paper in the bin in Costa Rica, but now that I can flush it down, it feels so wrong!

- I accidentally left my box of ceramics from Costa Rica behind and have had to pay $150 for postage to Australia...

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page