top of page
  • Writer's pictureCat

more beaches and waterfalls

I went to Manzanillo, Puntarenas to visit an old friend.

Travelling on a Sunday limited my bus options so it was a long day. Perhaps I should have paid for the chartered bus for at least part of the way... Here's what I had to do:

  • 8:30am bus (leaving San Lazaro) to Santa Cruz (1,100₡)

  • 9am bus (leaving Liberia) (from a different station) to Nicoya (550₡)

  • 1pm bus (from a different station) to the ferry terminal

  • taxi to Paquera

  • 4.30pm bus (they're aligned with the ferries) to Cóbano

  • 6pm bus to Santa Teresa (1,000₡)

  • my friend picked me up and drove us to Manzanillo

I spend four nights at Tepee House CR; it's right across from the beach. The staff are very relaxed, and the guests were very friendly. For $19 a night, I had a queen sized bed and was able to unpack my stuff into a wardrobe for the first time in a long time. The only downside of the hostel was its accessibility as it's a 30min walk to from the bus stop.

The sunsets from the Nicoyan peninsula are the most beautiful in all of Costa Rica as you're on the western most point of the country. I watched the sun melt into horizon and also lit a fire on the beach and watched the red moon set a few hours later. It was spectacular.

I did a day trip to Montezuma which was amazing and I wish I'd spent longer! Together with some other backpackers I met on the bus, I walked across beaches, swam in a tide pool, and climbed up four waterfalls! To visit the top waterfalls, the fee is 2,400₡ (although I heard that some people paid 2,000₡ and others paid $10 so I'm not sure how that works), although we realised later that you can actually climb it for free.

The journey back to San José was long but much easier than the first trip. There are many shuttle busses from Santa Teresa to San José, however, they cost upwards of $50. If you go to Cóbano first, then there is a $20.48 shuttle (ferry fare included) at 1pm everyday which you can book and pay for online at La Terminal. It take 7 hours, but at least you get to enjoy the beautiful scenery from the ferry.

I spent two nights at the hippie In the Wind hostel. The dorm costs $12 a night (which includes a pancake breakfast) and the beds are super comfy.


I also got to say a final goodbye to my old host family which was super lovely.


I am not sure when I'll next get to travel to Costa Rica, but for now, I hope to spread awareness of this incredibly special country and keep in contact with all my Tico friends.


Pura vida!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page