top of page
  • Writer's pictureCat

Day 17 (Covid & cuttlefish)

Updated: Nov 22, 2022

Following on from my town hall cita, today I went to my 9.36am appointment at the local health centre to get an EU Covid Cert. (The word for 'appointment' in Spanish, is cita, which is the same word for a 'date' (romantic), so it's always funny making dates with the government.)

I handed over the receipt for my Padrón (which I obtained at the town hall), my passport (+ copy of the information and Visa pages), my

Australian International Vaccine Cert, my nombramiento (the letter of appointment for the school I work at), and this form (specific to Andalucía). It turned out that this was an appointment to add me to the public healthcare system and that I'd need to go back in an hour to verify my certificate. I showed up at 11am with my Australian International Vaccine Cert, and was told that the EU one would be available in 2-3 days on the 'Salud Andalucia' app. I was given a paper copy in the meantime.

Next step...booster! Spain made it official last week that people aged 18+ who have waited 5 months since their last vaccine are now eligible for their third dose. I asked about making another date with the health centre in 4 weeks time (which is when I'm eligible), however, they actually call you, so I guess I'll hold on a little longer.


In terms of food, we've been eating a lot of choco (cuttlefish) here lately. Below is: Papas con choco (potato stew with cuttlefish, Garbanzos con choco (chickpeas with cuttlefish), and Ensaladillo Malagueña (a Malagueño salad with sweet orange and salty cod).


Notes:

- Many of the buildings are decorated with ornamental pine cones. I have no idea why, but they look pretty.

- As I mentioned four days ago, I was worried that my debit card was lost in the mail somewhere and I haven't been able to reach Santander via email. I called the emergency number and was put through to an English operator who explained to me that my card was on route to my home address in Australia! So we managed to change the address and I should receive my new one in 10 days.

- I also mentioned earlier that the food is cheap in Andalucía, well, so are the clothes! To be fair, there are still sales from Los Reyes Magos celebration, but I've seen jeans for 10€ ($15) and puffer jackets for under 30€ ($45)!

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page