top of page
  • Writer's pictureCat

One Week in the Caribbean

Costa Rica, literally the 'rich coast', is abundant with biodiversity and has both a Pacific and Caribbean coastline complete mountains and volcanoes.


After my mum and sister left Costa Rica, I took the $11 Mepe bus from San José to Cahuita. It took 5.5-6 hours, but I was comfortable just reading and sleeping.

With the windows on the bus open, I noticed the air becoming thick and sweet as we reached the Caribbean Sea.


I stayed at the Secret Garden hostel in Cahuita. It has plenty of hammocks for relaxing and is right next to the national park. In the evenings, I could hear monkeys and see sloths while I was cooking dinner!

The Cahuita National Park was by far one of the most impressive national parks I have ever been to. It was established in 1978 and once you pay the donation at the entrance, you are free to walk through the jungle, wetlands, and beaches. Within minutes, I spotted monkeys, sloths, lizards, racoons, squirrels, turtles, frogs, birds, and butterflies! It was stunning and the beaches were heavenly.


Along with crocs, the other thing to be aware of are the Manzanilla trees (Hippomane mancinella) which have toxic sap that can burn your skin. Even using them as shade can give you a rash and eating their fruit is fatal.



Every night, I also watched the moon rise from the beach at 6pm. It starts off big and orange from the horizon and climbs quickly until it joins the starts. And I was surrounded by glowworms! Also, keep an eye out for sloths...this one is carrying a baby.

On my last day, I went on a long walk out past Playa Negra until I came across a whole row of hidden rock pools! They were amazing an I had about ten all to myself.


Cahuita is pretty quiet during the week, but Coco’s Bar has live Calypso music on Saturdays and then on Sundays, Soda Kawe makes traditional rice and beans (like gallo pinto, but with coconut milk). Make sure you arrive early because they close once they sell out! I also recommend trying patacones which are fried plantains.


Cahuita is just 30 minutes from the more popular Puerto Viejo, but is much smaller and cheaper. I would still recommend doing at least a day trip to Puerto Viejo as there is an amazing black beach. The sand genuinely looks like ash and even sparkles in the sun! I spent a whole day there and read a book from start to finish!

I took the same bus back to San José in time to have dinner with my old host family from three years ago. The couple are in their 80s and don't speak any English. I surprised both of us with how well I can speak Spanish!


I spent the night at Costa Rica Backpackers which was very lively and affordable.



Notes:

- Ubers in Costa Rica much cheaper than taxis and are great for shorter drives within cities.

- I had my first dream in Spanish!

- I am beginning to feel homesick - after a whole year of travelling, I think that is pretty understandable.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page